Board of Directors

The primary purpose of the Global Network Initiative's Board of Directors is to further the Principles and to oversee the organization to fulfill the vision of the GNI.

The Board is composed of eight representatives from companies, four from non-governmental organizations, two from the academic community, two from the investor community, and an Independent Chair. Each Board member may also designate an alternate Board member from within its organization or constituency.

The following members serve on the GNI Board:

Independent Chair

Mark Stephens, CBE

ICT Companies

Pablo Chavez

Christine Chen


Steve Crown

Ebele Okobi

Matt Perault

Note: Three company seats remain open for companies that join the GNI in the future.

Civil Society Organizations

Arvind Ganesan
Human Rights Watch

Nuala O'Connor
Center for Democracy & Technology

Robert Mahoney
Committee to Protect Journalists

Note: One civil society organization seat is open at present.


Bennett Freeman
Calvert Group

Sara Nordbrand
Church of Sweden 

Academics and Academic Organizations

Eduardo Bertoni
University of Palermo

Deirdre Mulligan
U.C. Berkeley School of Information 

The following members serve as Alternate Board Members:

NGO Alternates

Farieha Aziz
Bolo Bhi

Mark Bench
World Press Freedom Committee

Kathleen Reen

Company Alternates

Richard Allan

Dorothy Dwoskin

Sonja Gittens-Ottley

Sara Harrington

Lewis Segall

Academic Alternates

Arturo Carrillo 
The George Washington University Law School 

Dalia Topelson
Berkman Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University

Investor Alternates

Lauren Compere
Boston Common Asset Management

Adam Kanzer
Domini Social Investments LLC